2011 ACOMMS finalists announced

Communications Alliance and Communications Day are proud to announce the finalists in the communications industry’s premier awards, the ACOMMS.

Recognising excellence across 10 Award categories, finalists are representative of the industry’s transformation from traditional voice communications to services, data and applications.  Two new categories, the Community Contribution Award and the Young Achiever Award, attracted a competitive field of nominations, with finalists representing the best of the best.

Six finalists have been named this year for the Communications Ambassador award for their outstanding contributions in their respective fields within the industry.

Communications Alliance CEO John Stanton said:  “The ACOMMS provide a once a year opportunity to showcase the Australian communications industry’s achievements, each year lifting the bar higher still.  This year is no exception, with a record number of nominations and outstanding entries in every category.  I congratulate all of the finalists and wish them well for the Awards night on 7 July.”

Decisive Publishing CEO Grahame Lynch said:  "We are particularly excited to be recognising the young achievers and community contributions of the industry.  The nominations were strong and have demonstrated, respectively, that the future of telecoms is in good hands and that it plays a wider role in not just supplying services but contributing to the greater good."

The 2011 ACOMM Awards finalists are:

Innovation (large)

  • Huawei (Single Radio Access Network solution)
  • Internode
  • Huawei (E5 Series Modem)

Innovation (SME)

  • Utilibill
  • OptiComm
  • Amcom

Services to Industry - Professional Services

  • Herbert Geer
  • Truman Hoyle
  • Launch Recruitment

Commitment to Customer Service

  • Internode
  • Optus
  • Telstra Enterprise & Government
  • UEComm

Innovation in Content Delivery

  • AAPT
  • Tigerspike

Partnerships for Growth

  • Ericsson / Telstra
  • Huawei / vividwireless
  • iiNet / Fetchtv
  • Utilibill / Telcoinabox

Environmental Responsibility

  • Centre for Energy-Efficient Telecommunications
  • Internode
  • TE Connectivity

Community Contribution

  • Optus
  • Telstra
  • Transact

Young Achiever

  • Kate Cornick
  • Sonia Sharma
  • McDonald Richards

Communications Ambassador

  • Paul Brooks
  • Simon Hackett
  • Jacob John
  • Michael Malone
  • Rod Tucker
  • Mike Wright

The ACOMM Awards are jointly presented by Communications Alliance and Communications Day and recognise excellence among communications industry participants including individuals, service providers, content providers, carriers, technology partners, consultants and third party suppliers.  AAPT is the 2011 title sponsor of the ACOMMS, with Optus, KPMG and Truman Hoyle also sponsoring the event.

The ACOMMS will be announced and presented at the 5th Annual ACOMMS Dinner on 7 July 2011 at the Sheraton on the Park, Sydney.  The witty Julia Zemiro will be the Master of Ceremonies.  Registrations for this year’s event can be made at: http://www.slatteryit.com.au/ACOMMS2011/


Communications Alliance is the peak body for the Australian communications industry.  Through a range of successful programs, events and initiatives, Communications Alliance has a leadership role in facilitating industry-based solutions to sectoral issues and is taking steps to bring to fruition the broadband and digital era, including leading the industry’s involvement in the National Broadband Network implementation. For further information visit www.commsalliance.com.au


Communications Day Australasia is Australia and New Zealand’s most respected source of daily telecom industry news and commentary published under the Decisive Publishing stable.   For further information see www.commsday.com